JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship 2012 comes to a dazzling end in Mysore

JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship 2012 comes to a dazzling end in Mysore

~Winning drivers and navigators awarded championship prizes in glittering ceremony~

~Satish Gopalkrishnan crowned Driver’s Champion while Savera D’Souza is top Co-Driver~

~Team Tata Motors Full Throttle wins Constructors Championship~

Mysore, February 3, 2013: The inaugural season of India’s only National Time-Speed-Distance rally championship – the JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship 2012 – concluded in style in Mysore after six gruelling rounds covering the country’s most rugged and challenging terrain. The championship prize distribution ceremony took place at the Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel together with a special music concert by singer Raghu Dixit, and was attended by the biggest names in Indian rallying in a dazzling event at the end of the final round 6 of the championship.

The championship witnessed competition going down to the wire and in the end, it was the Bangalore-based husband-wife duo of Satish Gopalkrishnan and Savera D’Souza racing for Team Tata Motors Full Throttle who were crowned champions in the Overall class in the inaugural season of the JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship.

The Overall Driver’s championship was won by Satish Gopalkrishnan who took the top spot with 78 fantastic points that were earned through a host of brilliant performances including two first finishes through the season. Giving him anxious moments on quite a few occasions was K P Karthick Maruthi who finished second overall and was behind the winner by only 7 points. Despite missing the first round, Sachin Singh put in a stellar performance through the last five rounds to finish on the podium twice, a tally of 57 points earned him the third spot in the championship.

In the Overall Co-Driver’s championship, Savera D’Souza topped the charts with 78 points to come out on top in standings. Impressing top drivers with her skills, Savera pipped runner up Sankar Anand by 7 points. Finishing third was Chandrashekar who finished with a final tally of 57 points.

The Constructor’s trophy was dominated by Team Tata Motors Full Throttle who took the championship with a whooping 247 followed by Team Volkswagen and Team Mahindra on 81 and 35 points respectively.

With a mission to breathe life into the country’s legendary rallying sector, India’s leading tyre manufacturer made its return to the sport after a gap of a decade. In the eighties, JK Tyre supported the Himalayan Rally, the country’s only international event to run over a period of 10 years. In the nineties, Team JK Tyre was seven times Indian National Rally champions and first-ever Asian Zone Champions.

Credited to have created new competitions in various disciplines of motorsport for more than three decades, JK Tyre launched India’s very first national level rally championship and ran it on the internationally recognised and trusted Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) format. After being launched in Bengaluru in August 2012, the landmark event travelled across India covering rally paradise in Ranchi, Jaipur, Kohima and Chandigarh over six thrilling rounds, the last of which concluded in Mysore. The city houses India’s first and state-of-the-art radial tyre and OTR plant.

The response to the championship was more than encouraging with close to 50 drivers and navigators participating in each round in categories that included Pro-Expert, Pro-Stock, Novice and Ladies. In another first, vehicle manufacturers such as such as TATA, Mahindra, Volkswagen and Maruti also competed in the championship through private entries.

With a fantastic inaugural season ending, the next edition promises to be packed with more adrenalin pumping action and the country’s finest Indian rallying talent battling it out for glory. The 2012 championship was conducted under the aegis of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) and promoted by the Mysore based Berunda Adventure Club.

Final Championship Standings:


Satish Gopalkrishnan and Savera D’Souza (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 78 points
K P Karthick Maruthi and Sankar Anand (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 71 points
Sachin Singh and Chandrasekar M (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 57 points

Pro-Expert Driver:

Satish Gopalkrishnan (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 78 points
K P Karthick Maruthi (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 77 points
G B Girijashankar Joshy (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 68 points

Pro-Expert Co-Driver:

Savera D’Souza (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 78 points
Sankar Anand (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 77 points
Chandan Sen (Privateer) 70 points

Pro-Stock Driver:

Chidanand Murthy (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 133 points
S Gopalkrishnan (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 81 points
Saurav Chaterjee (Privateer) 57 points

Pro-Stock Co-Driver:

Sujith Kumar B S (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 133 points
V Sekar (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 89 points
Kuriakose Elias Paarel (Tata Motors Full Throttle) 62 pts

Constructor’s Championship:

Team Tata Motors Full Throttle 247 points
Team Volkswagen 81 points
Team Mahindra 35 points

For all the latest news, photos, videos, and updates, please visit us at:





About JK Tyre Motorsports

JK Tyre has always been closely associated with the world of sports. Almost three decades back the company laid down a long term and sustained approach to promote Motorsport. Participating in this form of the sport has helped the company in continuously updating its products to meet the challenges of gruelling Indian conditions. The sport at that time in India was perceived for elite but JK Tyre took upon itself to package and redesign the sport to suit the masses. The company not only made the sport affordable but also equivalent to International operating standards. JK Tyre’s foray into Motorsport was a well thought out strategic decision to not only use and develop this virgin branding platform but also to realize the dreams of making India a force in the field of motor sport.

In 2011, the company acquired the Formula BMW Series and rechristened it as the JK Racing Asia Series (JKRAS). With this acquisition, JK Tyre created history in Indian Motorsport by becoming the first Indian company to acquire an FIA accredited series. The series has to its credit of producing as many as six of the current Formula One drivers, including reigning three-time champion Sebastian Vettel. By taking over the series, JK Tyre promises to utilize it as a platform to encourage and support the world’s best racing drivers and promote India as one of Asia’s motorsport capitals. Thus, JK Tyre has conquered two steps in the motorsport program where the new racing aspirants first establish themselves in India, then graduate to Asian level i.e. to Formula BMW, which is now JKRAS and then they move to higher levels of racing. JK Tyre now stands closer to achieving its mission of bringing world-class motorsport to the Indian masses.

The Racing and Karting programme by JK Tyre has been the breeding ground for the country’s motorsport talents like Narain Karthikeyan, Armaan Ebrahim, Karun Chandhok, Aditya Patel and other emerging talents.

For further information, please contact:

Neha Tiwary

JK Tyre & Industries Limited

+91 97172 22586


Rajendra Ganotra is the Editor of Spicy Stars Mumbai

You must be logged in to post a comment Login